Friday, February 25, 2011

No. 2 Charles Street Berkeley Square, Mayfair, London, in 1871

The last seven posts, starting with

Thomas March of 1 Charles Street: One degree from Queen Victoria

have looked closely at the family who occupied No.1 Charles Street according to the 1871 census.

Charles Street runs from the south west corner of Berkeley Square, and from what I've seen, it was a pretty good neighbourhood back in 1871.

We continue the exploration with the second house on the street.  Here's the Google Maps image as it now is.


View Larger Map

And the current Google Street View picture, with No. 1 on the right (Thomas C. March house in 1871) and No. 2, the blue one, on the left.


View Larger Map



Link in case map isn't visible: 2 Charles Street, Mayfair, and the link to the Street View.

Living at No. 2, in 1871, the census says this.

No. 2: Henry Flemming, 59, unmarried, Civil Servant, Secretary of the Poor Law Board
1 Family, namely Henry himself.
2 Servants, James Austen, 50, and Martha Newman, 17, both unmarried.

Citation from Ancestry.co.uk: Class:  RG10; Piece:  102; Folio:  75; Page: 31; GSU roll:  838762.

There's a mention here on p. 522 of The British Medical Journal, May 23, 1868:

"IO. Mr. Flemming, Secretary of the Poor-law Board, acknowledges
on February 20th, I867, the receipt of Mr. Trevor's last letter."

The spelling of "Flemming", however, is not consistent in the records. In the majority of cases I've seen so far, it's been spelled with only one "m", "Fleming".

Henry Fleming was a rather interesting fellow, from another interesting family. This family will take us to the poorhouse and to the last gasps of the slave trade.


Our peek at the houses of Charles Street, Berkeley Square in 1871 began at No. 1: Thomas March of 1 Charles Street: One degree from Queen Victoria.


Before that, we started with the Stoker family: Bram Stoker, author of Dracula in public records: BMD (Birth, Marriage, Death).

Next: Who was Henry Fleming? A dandy? A heartless villain? Both? Neither? More history from Charles Street, Berkeley Square.

3 comments:

  1. Hi Jill, I have just stumbled upon this in my quest to find my Great Grandmother LOUISA MOORE who was discharged from Paddington Workhouse in 1889 to the care of her Mother Caroline Moore living at 12 Charles Street. Please can you provide any info on No 12 Charles Street? Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi I have recently completed some lengthy research into a couple of people in my family tree that are featured in your blog. Medows/Norie If you wish to connect then please contact me

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi Wigggle, I haven't got any way to contact you privately, so I have posted your comment as a way of reaching you.
    If you want to reach me by email, you can use jillcalgary at gmail dot com.
    I'm not sure if I have more info for you but I am happy to have a look around.
    Regards,
    Jill

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for your comment.

There was an error in this gadget